

## Media fact sheet – UN Security Council elections 2014

## **UN Security Council Elections**

Elections for the Security Council will take place on 16 October 2014 in the UN General Assembly Hall in New York. Voting will start at 10am (New York time). This is 3am on 17 October New Zealand time.

The Security Council has 15 seats, held by five permanent members and 10 non-permanent members. The five permanent members (also known as the P5) are China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom and the United States of America. The 10 non-permanent members serve two-year terms.

This year, five new non-permanent members will be elected for a two-year term. The term starts on 1 January 2015 and ends on 31 December 2016.

Angola, Malaysia and Venezuela will stand uncontested for the available seats in their respective regional groups. However, they are still required to obtain votes from two-thirds of the member states on 16 October to secure a seat. If all 193 members are present and eligible to vote, that means at least 129 votes are required to secure a seat.

New Zealand, Spain and Turkey are running for two available seats in the Western European and Others Group (WEOG). The successful candidates will be the first two countries to obtain two-thirds of the available votes. This means voting will continue until two of the three candidates secure 129 votes (or until one of the candidates withdraws).

## Election rules and process

The rules and process for election to the Security Council are set out in the <u>UN Charter</u> and the <u>Rules of Procedure of the General Assembly</u>.

Additional information about the 2014 Security Council elections is available here: <a href="http://www.securitycouncilreport.org/special-research-report/security-council-elections-2014.php">http://www.securitycouncilreport.org/special-research-report/security-council-elections-2014.php</a>

<b>Current UNSC</b>	Term	Regional	Composition of UNSC in 2015
members		group	(candidates for election for the
(until 31 Dec			2015-16 term are shown in the
2014)			shaded areas)
China	Permanent		China
France	Permanent		France
Russia	Permanent		Russia
UK	Permanent		UK
USA	Permanent		USA
Chad	Non-permanent	African	Chad
	2014-15		
Nigeria	Non-permanent	African	Nigeria
	2014-15		
Rwanda	Non-permanent	African	Angola
	2013-14		
Jordan	Non-permanent	Asia-Pacific	Jordan
	2014-15		
Republic of	Non-permanent	Asia-Pacific	Malaysia
Korea	2013-14		
Lithuania	Non-permanent	Eastern	Lithuania
	2014-15	European	
Argentina	Non-permanent	Latin American	Venezuela
	2013-14	and Caribbean	
Chile	Non-permanent	Latin American	Chile
	2014-15	and Caribbean	
Australia	Non-permanent	Western	New Zealand, Spain, Turkey (for
	2013-14	European and	one of two available WEOG seats)
		others	
Luxembourg	2013-14	Western	New Zealand, Spain, Turkey (for
		European and	one of two available WEOG seats)
		others	